Two Sides: World vs. Word

This is how I spend my Saturday night. Most of you think I am a huge nerd for staying home & hanging with God.. and that’s ok I probably am.. and if I were to be honest with you sometimes I miss the days of going to the bar and seeing how many phone numbers I could get (yes, I have been there, multiple times) but as much as I sometimes miss those days of carefree freedom, it is by Christ’s strength I can feel secure enough, content enough to stay in.. To hang with God, instead of aching for mans attention I can relentlessly pursue my Savior.  Which brings me to the topic for tonight, my constant failures. My sins I try and “hide”, the pursuit of the flawless Christian life.

Sometimes I feel like no matter how hard I try to be the “perfect Christian” I find myself unable to even look at my self in the mirror. How do I keep stumbling when I have been changed by the blood of Christ? How do I let the world keep tripping me up in this illusion that it & the things in it will ever be enough?

Sin wont ever quit me, I have to try and quit it. It doesn’t mean I won’t fail, every day to try and rid myself of the filth. It simply means I try.

Just because sins claim over my life has been broken, doesn’t mean I wont struggle, it does mean we have more power to keep from giving into it. I have the Holy Spirit within to resist advances and live strong. We must choose every day. Every moment.

Paul speaks of knowing what is right but the evil desires win out over his good intentions. The spirit and flesh are at war with one each other. But there is HOPE! We can depend on the justification at the cross.

Grace also doesn’t give us a “hall pass” If increasing sin means increasing grace, why worry about sin?

  1. Sin destroys the moral fabric of our lives.
  2. Sin violates God’s purpose for us. He calls us for something infinitely better.
  3. Sinning with the intention of asking for forgiveness drains all sincerity out of repentance, it insults the price paid for sin.

On the cross, Jesus overcame. H broke the power of death (Hebrews 2:14) He taught His disciples that they would have to lose their lives to really live (Luke 9:24) that they could only be great by becoming servants (Mark 10:43-44) and that the way to be exalted, is to be humbled (Matthew 23:12) Such ideas seem to be contradictions but we win because of Jesus.

There is no justification in our sin. Sin was brought in by man and had to be taken away by man. At the cross, He fulfilled all that righteousness demanded. He was given in exchange for us. His blood for the price of our justification.

God has done everything to justify us through the sacrifice of His son and the only thing we need is faith and to receive the grace shown on the cross. We need to stop trying to justify ourselves and depend on the finished work of Jesus Christ.

This is why at times I try to stay and be good, I find myself out craving worldly things. Things that will never satisfy my soul. Things that no matter how hard I try to be good enough for, I never will. Sin is justified through the cross, but our love for the one who put himself there for us should overcome any temptation of the world.

There are two sides The world and the word. There are continuous battles going on DAILY between the two. I may win some, and I may lose some. But in the end I have victory at the foot of the cross.

About bethalma

I love Christ. He made me, he gets all of me. I love sports, cupcakes and water.. Love to laugh, it's my favorite things ever. If you're interested come see what I have to say :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Sides: World vs. Word

  1. BringFreedom says:

    Great
    may your fighting win
    Immanuel

  2. samrio says:

    Sin isn’t something that can be avoided at times. We are made in Gods image and he loves us. Our free will sometimes isn’t how he envisioned us to be, but be thankful for all the stumbles you have overcome. You’ve learned from them, and you are wonderful simply for admitting your mistakes to him.
    I admire your words. When I was diagnosed with Cancer in 2009 I gave up and believed God was punishing me. I lost faith. I asked for signs, prayed for answers, and over time realized that the journey would lead me toward what I sought.
    I find it amazing that you are so beautiful inside and out. I pray that one day you look in the mirror and know that God has your number. One day he will call with all the love he can possibly provide. Keep your head up and dream big.
    Sam

  3. samrio says:

    Sin isn’t something that can be avoided at times. We are made in Gods image and he loves us. Our free will sometimes isn’t how he envisioned us to be, but be thankful for all the stumbles you have overcome. You’ve learned from them, and you are wonderful simply for admitting your mistakes to him.
    I admire your words. When I was diagnosed with Cancer in 2009 I gave up and believed God was punishing me. I lost faith. I asked for signs, prayed for answers, and over time realized that the journey would lead me toward what I sought.
    I find it amazing that you are so beautiful inside and out. I pray that one day you look in the mirror and know that God has your number. One day he will call with all the love he can possibly provide. Keep your head up and dream big.

Leave a Reply

