Help me lose control

So my pastor had this story I must share. He was training to be a lifeguard and one day while by the pool he saw a man struggling.. He looked to his trainer and the lifeguard was just watching intently. My pastor asked if they were going in after him, the trainer said to just wait. My pastor started getting uneasy. Finally the man gave up the struggle & then the lifeguard went in after him, pulled him in and the man struggling was fine. My pastor asked the trainer why he waited so long, the lifeguard said that if he would have gone in while the man still had control then the man struggling would have fought the lifeguard in a helpless frenzy. It was only until the man had given up that he could be saved.

For so long I have been scared of giving control over to God. But why? When every time I try and do it my way I make such a mess. Here are some reasons.. I really don’t believe that His plans are better than mine. Wow.. that’s hard even typing let alone admitting it outloud. So often I think, He doesn’t have time to worry about my petty little life. If that were the actual, then why am I even here? He has a specific plan in mind and how do I think I can improve that? Everyone knows Jeremiah 29:11 but it only seems fitting here. “’For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord,’ plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” That is DECLARED BY THE LORD. He wants us to know its not just plan, its good plans. We will only see them take place when we get out of the way & submit to Him.

Another reason I have been scared is that He will require things of me that I just simply do not want to do. First of all, that is completelyopposite of what scripture says. Check it out “”Delight yourself inthe Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:4) that is straight from scripture. He doesn’t want to make us miserable. He wants to give us our desires through His will. I don’t think that this means life is suppose to be “comfortable” as Christians either. No pain, no gain, as it says in Romans 8:16-17, “And since we are his children, we are his heirs. In fact, together with Christ we are heirs of God’s glory. But if we are to share his glory, we must also share his suffering.” The Bible never gives us any such expectation. Rather the reverse: the Bible says again and again, no cross, no crown; no rules, no wreath; no pains, no gains. It is this principle of which took Christ through lowly birth and suffering death, to his resurrection and his reign in heaven. It is this principle that brought Paul his chains, and his prison cell, in order that the elect might obtain salvation in Jesus Christ. It is this principle of which makes the soldier willing to endure hardship, the athlete discipline, the farmer toil. (Oops, wrong soapbox)

I think the first step we must take is to realize this life isn’t ours. “Don’t you know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself, for God bought you with a high price.” (1 Corinthians 6:19-20) We aren’t our own. We would be nothing without Him. Who are we to think that after He created us, we just suddenly took over?

This might be bold but I’ll say it. There is absolutely nothing that has happened, is happening, or will happen to you that God cannot handle. God wants to be first. In control of all. Not here & there, but all. Let him carry the burden for you. I promise, He is stronger than you are.

Lose control. 

About bethalma

I love Christ. He made me, he gets all of me. I love sports, cupcakes and water.. Love to laugh, it's my favorite things ever. If you're interested come see what I have to say :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Help me lose control

  1. What an AWESOME message that we all need to be reminded of! As I was reading this, I felt as you were saying exactly what I have been thinking all along. I have been so afraid of just letting God take complete control, and why?? It’s hard to conceive the plans He has and the amount of love He has for us when we are so flawed ourselves as humans! Definitely inspired from your awesome post to let go and give Him complete control. So glad I stumbled upon your tweets and blog through following Sean Lowe on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

