Oh Great God give us rest!!

I personally feel like I always deal with being restless. I never have enough peace in tomorrow and worry about things that are to come. I worry about pointless things, critical things but at the end of the day.. that exact thing.. things.

But honestly “Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?” (Matt. 6:27-29)

And aren’t these just things.. “The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.” (1 John 2:17)

And we should “So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:18)

But all these things are so much easier said than done for me. I struggle with control. Or lack thereof. Yet isn’t our foundation in Christ alone?

So where do I find this rest?

Check this out:

Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.” Matthew 19:24

This passage was always so confusing to me.. Until I understood the meaning. The eye of a needle, was a small fixed door in a gate that opened after dark, in order for the camel to crawl through it, all of its possessions had to have been taken off to get through the tiny door.

WOW.

Maybe it doesn’t seem like a big deal when you first read that but think about it. Christ tells us to “Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” (Luke 18:22) Again in Mark, he told Simon and Andrew “Follow me, and I will make you become fishers of men. And immediately they left their nets and followed him.” (Mark 1:16-18)

The only thing we must do is unload all of our posessions, the things of the world that our weighing us down, the control, the views of the world and lay them down, at the feet of Jesus.

 And at the foot of the Cross, there is Rest.

Truly my soul finds rest in God; my salvation comes from him.” Psalm 62:1

 

Lord, let me let go of everything that hinders me from you and ease my unsettled heart.

About bethalma

I love Christ. He made me, he gets all of me. I love sports, cupcakes and water.. Love to laugh, it's my favorite things ever. If you're interested come see what I have to say :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh Great God give us rest!!

  1. Flynn says:

    I enjoyed reading your article about rest and your passages that supplemented your own thoughts. One of my go to passages about rest is Psalm 46:10, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

    Thank you for your thoughts and transparency in your blog. There is great value in one sharing their own thoughts and feelings so that other believers or non-believers can learn from. God bless

Leave a Reply

