Sweetly Broken

I am listening to this song: Sweetly Broken by Jeremy Riddle over and over and trying to relate. How many times am I humbled a day? Something happened last night that literally brought me to my knees. Something that shattered my “world” I was to put it lightly, broken. Everytime this happens the first thing I do is question “why God” what have I done to deserve this? Havent I been good, havent I kept your law. I have changed my life around, I am living for you.. Why am I being punished.

But shouldnt I be praising God? Isnt this right where I am suppose to be? Isnt this.. at my weakest where He comes in to show me His strength time and time again? What if all I had was happiness? and why do I need the happiness of my world when I have the JOY of my Saviour. How does he become prevelent in my life if everything is just wonderful all the time.

I found out a very important lesson last night. For years I have been searching the arms of men.. of mere mortals to fix me.. to make me happy.. to make me feel beautiful and loved yet how many times have I been let down? Someone very close to me.. closer than I hve ever been to anyone let me down.. and not gently. I fell.. hard. But what can mere mortals do to me? (Psalm 56:11) What is the ONE guarantee I have in life? The ONE consistent? Doesnt Paul want to “delight in his weakness?” because it is then that God can show his strength (2 corinthians 12:10) Why cant I be like Paul and delight in my trials to bring me closer to my Savior?

Lord.. HUMBLE me.. once again.

“I asked God to spare me pain.
God said, No.
Suffering draws you apart from worldly cares and brings you closer to me.”

About bethalma

I love Christ. He made me, he gets all of me. I love sports, cupcakes and water.. Love to laugh, it's my favorite things ever. If you're interested come see what I have to say :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

